!!

Hello Guest! Kumusta!

Thank you for visiting PiPho Forum!
It would be best if you will register so you can use the additional benefits of the community such as joining events, interacting with fellow members and view the hidden boards of the forum.

 
 
Mabuhay, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Sorry, this shoutbox does not exist.

Recent Classifieds Posts

Invalid feed.

Recent Forum Posts



Author Topic: Would this be a useful feature  (Read 2184 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline eos_kiss

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Tocino + Rice
  • ****
  • Join Date: Apr 2006
  • Posts: 204
  • Liked: 1
Would this be a useful feature
« on: October 30, 2006, 08:42:17 PM »
I was just wondering what else could big players in this industry like Canon or Nikon would do or add up to their DSLRs to spice up the competition...

I'm not sure if any DSLR has this feature but this would only apply to tele-photo lens, would you like to see what focal range your shooting at on your view finder when your adjusting lets say from 24mm going to 50mm or from 135mm you wanna back out to 85mm?

Di ba?! di ba?! imposibleng walang DSLR na may ganito ???

Pinoy Photography - Philippines Online Photography Community

Would this be a useful feature
« on: October 30, 2006, 08:42:17 PM »

Offline architer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Robot
  • ******
  • Join Date: Apr 2006
  • Posts: 1750
  • Liked: 0
  • Gender: Male
    • threeSIXfive
Re: Would this be a useful feature
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2006, 08:50:10 PM »
hmmm... for me useless lang to, enough na ung numbers around the lens.. unless your that strict in shooting in a particular focal length, then that would be useful.  ;)
PROJECTthreeSIXfive

I give my life to honor this, The love of Christ, the Savior King

Offline nitro

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Circulan
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2006
  • Posts: 326
  • Liked: 5
  • Gender: Male
    • none
Re: Would this be a useful feature
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2006, 08:18:48 AM »
hmmn...  di ba 'you normally frame according to what you see in the viewfinder?  does it matter kung anong focal length 'yun?  would you move closer or step back if, say it shows 53mm and you want to shoot at 50mm or 55mm?

Offline eds

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Circulan
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2006
  • Posts: 414
  • Liked: 1
    • http://edsmagsayo.blogspot.com
Re: Would this be a useful feature
« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2006, 03:02:13 PM »
its useful ...
when using a tele zoom lens ,i always  use shutter speed=  1/fl  to avoid blurring .  this would give me useful info.
"It is through the heart that one sees rightly. What is essential is invisible to the eye."
http://www.betterphoto.com/gallery/free/gallery.asp?memberID=168879

Offline nitro

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Circulan
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2006
  • Posts: 326
  • Liked: 5
  • Gender: Male
    • none
Re: Would this be a useful feature
« Reply #4 on: November 02, 2006, 07:37:16 AM »
good point, eds...  completely different for eos_kiss's idea, but a more useful one...

with cpu lenses it can very easily be done...  heck, focal length info is obtained by the camera and used to match the flash zoom so the information is there...

although with the advent of VR/IS/OS/AS/OIS, a lot of people have been pushing the shutter speed limits...



 


Offline jetstar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Nido Kid
  • **
  • Join Date: Feb 2006
  • Posts: 33
  • Liked: 1
  • Gender: Male
  • Shoot...Shoot...Shoot!!!
    • DreamLightbox
  • Field: Landscape
Re: Would this be a useful feature
« Reply #5 on: November 03, 2006, 06:46:08 PM »
Some canon lenses provide information to the body on which focal the image was taken. But this info doesn't show up on the viewfinder but you may view it on the exif of your file. It's just a matter of reprogramming the firmware. ;)

Offline nitro

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Circulan
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2006
  • Posts: 326
  • Liked: 5
  • Gender: Male
    • none
Re: Would this be a useful feature
« Reply #6 on: November 04, 2006, 01:57:29 AM »
It's just a matter of reprogramming the firmware. ;)

it may not be that easy, kasi you'd have to find space in the viewfinder to display that info...  so malamang me hardware change rin...  :)

Offline jetstar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Nido Kid
  • **
  • Join Date: Feb 2006
  • Posts: 33
  • Liked: 1
  • Gender: Male
  • Shoot...Shoot...Shoot!!!
    • DreamLightbox
  • Field: Landscape
Re: Would this be a useful feature
« Reply #7 on: November 04, 2006, 02:25:26 AM »
it may not be that easy, kasi you'd have to find space in the viewfinder to display that info...  so malamang me hardware change rin...  :)


But they can reprogram a button, for example while pressing the set button while looking at the viewfinder, it will show you the focal length of the lens.

Offline nitro

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Circulan
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2006
  • Posts: 326
  • Liked: 5
  • Gender: Male
    • none
Re: Would this be a useful feature
« Reply #8 on: November 05, 2006, 04:05:18 AM »
But they can reprogram a button, for example while pressing the set button while looking at the viewfinder, it will show you the focal length of the lens.


walang problema 'yung control, eh...  pero saan mo nga idi-display sa viewfinder kung walang allocated space para sa focal length?  aber?  lol



the quickest way would be to replace one of those readouts with the focal length info...  but which one?  at the design stage, each of those were put there because they were what was required (based on competitors, market research, etc.)...

and i don't think focal length information would be more useful (for me, personally) than any of the information already there...

Offline jps444

  • Through A Glass Darkly...
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Robot
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2006
  • Posts: 2494
  • Liked: 2
  • Gender: Male
  • All I can do is be me... Whoever that is...
    • I n  T h e  P o n d  . . .
Re: Would this be a useful feature
« Reply #9 on: November 05, 2006, 05:05:17 PM »
yeah focal length info in the viewfinder is not the useful for me too. it is more important to me on what i am able to frame of the subject rather than the lenth i am using. artistic values over technicality.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/jps444_photography/
http://jps444.multiply.com/

i am most free when i have my art in my right hand and my heart in the other.

Offline jetstar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Nido Kid
  • **
  • Join Date: Feb 2006
  • Posts: 33
  • Liked: 1
  • Gender: Male
  • Shoot...Shoot...Shoot!!!
    • DreamLightbox
  • Field: Landscape
Re: Would this be a useful feature
« Reply #10 on: November 05, 2006, 08:05:22 PM »
I agree with that. As I have said you can see it on the exif. But Canon can have the firmware modifed to display this while pressing the Set Button (for Canon), the focal length will appear on the shutter speed LCD readout in the viewfinder. But again this is impractical and serves no purpose on the time when you are capturing the image. I think there was even a russian programmer who got a firmware update for 300D on the net with added features aside from what Canon has on the 300D.

As I always say, shoot and shoot, don't take too much time on technical stuff and theories while on assignment. Your eye and artistic abilities contribute more on the result.

But if you really insist, konting baba lang po ng cam and tingnan nyo yung zoom lens kung ano ang focal length. Hahaha. Just kidding. ;D
« Last Edit: November 05, 2006, 08:07:58 PM by jetstar »

Tags:
 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
37 Replies
9517 Views
Last post June 27, 2007, 09:06:33 AM
by marke1415
1 Replies
1272 Views
Last post January 08, 2010, 09:59:54 AM
by winstonb
27 Replies
7841 Views
Last post March 03, 2010, 04:27:39 PM
by alanebs
20 Replies
5090 Views
Last post September 06, 2010, 06:30:51 PM
by xentinel2
1 Replies
1748 Views
Last post November 21, 2015, 08:59:50 AM
by ninjapeps


Get this spot now imagesmith photography Two Stops Over